South Carolina Department of Public Safety


July 25, 2018
Contact: Capt. Kelley Hughes, 803-530-1664



COLUMBIA -- The South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame held an induction ceremony today to recognize seven officers for for their outstanding contributions to law enforcement in South Carolina. The first ceremony recognizing officers for meritorious service was held in October 2017.


Nominees for this honor must have a proven record of excellence that is manifestly outstanding, especially to South Carolina law enforcement as a whole. They must have 25 years minimum of law enforcement service. The nominees can be nominated posthumously. The nominees cannot currently be employed by a law enforcement agency or have been employed in the past five years.


Each of the officers recognized today has made notable contributions and advanced the field of law enforcement in South Carolina through innovative ideas and partnerships; forward-thinking leadership and a commitment to making our state safer,” said SCDPS Director Leroy Smith, chair of the SC Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame Advisory Committee.


Representatives from law enforcement agencies and associations presented a narrative of the award winners at the ceremony.


This year’s inductees included:


Director Ellis C. MacDougall

SC Department of Corrections


Lieutenant Ulysses Flemming

SC Department of Natural Resources


Major Israel Brooks Jr.

South Carolina Highway Patrol


Lieutenant Carl B. “Pedro” Stokes

SC Law Enforcement Division


Chief Andrew Shealy

Newberry Police Department


Sheriff Williford L. Faile

Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office


Chief Deputy Jerry Wright

Newberry County Sheriff’s Office


The recipients’ names will be permanently displayed in the Hall of Fame, and going forward each year names will be added representing the “best” in leadership and service in South Carolina law enforcement.


The SC Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame was created by an act of the SC General Assembly in 1974.  That act established the Hall of Fame’s mission as both honoring South Carolina officers who have died in the line of duty and honoring officers in the day-to-day performance of their duties.  The Hall of Fame enabling legislation also established an advisory committee to determine who would be honored at the Hall of Fame and authorized that “Any officer whose continued record of excellence over a period of years is manifestly outstanding may be elected to the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame by the advisory committee.”

The South Carolina Department of Public Safety includes the Highway Patrol, State Transport Police, Bureau of Protective Services, Office of Highway Safety and Justice Programs, Immigration Enforcement Unit and the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame. Our mission is to ensure public safety by protecting and serving the people of South Carolina and its visitors.
FOLLOW SCDPS ON:facebook, twitter, instagram SCDPS on Facebook SCDPS on Twitter SCDPS on Instagram
SCDPS on Facebook SCDPS on Twitter SCDPS on Instagram